Information of Galapagos, opinions, updates

• General Information about the Galapagos

The Archipelago de Colon (official name), well known as the Galapagos Islands, is located 1000 kilometers, 600 miles west of mainland Ecuador.
It is composed of 13 main islands, 42 islets and a large number of rocks, all together forming a land area of 8000 square kilometers.
The highest elevation of all the islands is Wolf Volcano, 1,707 meters, located at the northern part of Isabela.

In 1973, Galapagos became a new province of Ecuador, and is currently the only province where both Ecuadorians and foreigners are not permitted to stay more than 90 days if they are not permanent residents of Galapagos. 3% of the islands' area is populated, while 97 % of the islands are National Park.

The five inhabited islands have a combined population of more than 25, 000 people.

Island Port name Population Features Airport
Santa Cruz Academy Bay 16000 Main economical port no
San Cristobal Wreck Bay 8500 Administrative Capital yes
Isabela Puerto Villamil 2800 Offers a lot of attractive sites yes
Floreana Velasco Ibarra 90 Where first settles arrived no
Baltra Aeolian Bay 40 Military base and fuel station yes

Galapagos was declared a National Park in 1959 and it's government institution is in charge of the management and conservation of the Islands in benefit of the local inhabitants and humanity.

The Charles Darwin Research Station was built in Santa Cruz Island in 1960.
This is a non government organization and is part of the Charles Darwin Foundation.

The Galapagos waters are the second largest marine reserve in the world, and together with the Galapagos National Park land areas have the designation of World's Natural Heritage given by UNESCO.

Weather Charles Darwin Foundation